top of page
  • Writer's picturepalbsubsgratsoftbu

Hartz Yeast Roll Recipe



These yeast rolls can be made the day they will be served or can be prepped the day ahead and baked the next day. The rolls turn out soft, tender, and slightly sweet. This dough is also the same dough I use for my classic crescent rolls, which means you can make either once you learn how to make the dough!


You want the milk for your yeast rolls to be warm, somewhere around 110 F (43 C). Yeast loves warm temperatures and it will wake it up quickly. However, if your liquid is too hot you can kill the yeast. It is best to error on the side of using liquid that is cooler rather than too hot.




hartz yeast roll recipe



Most yeast bread recipes will list a range in the amount of flour used in the recipe. This is because flour is temperamental and depending on where you live you might need more or less for your dough. Start with the lowest amount of flour listed and then you can add more in while kneading the dough.


You can use active dry or rapid rise yeast for these rolls. Both will work well and can be added right in with the flour, no hydrating needed. Note: If you are making make-ahead yeast rolls (prepping the day before), you want to be sure to use active dry yeast.


Made these yeast rolls per instructions and they turned out perfect. My only question is to the use unsalted butter but to add kosher salt. Why not just use salted butter. I look forward to trying many of your other recipes.


I found your video very helpful. My mom made yeast rolls a lot when I was growing up. I tried to make them and failed miserably. This is the second time I have used your recipe and video so I feel more confident when using yeast.


These turned out beautiful. Loved working with this dough, so soft and pliable. I made 12 rolls but they were pretty big (great for a sandwich or burger maybe), so next time I will make the smaller size. Light, fluffy and delicious. Thanks for the recipe.


Thank you so much for sharing this recipe and the video with step by step instructions. I appreciate the detail and recipes that you share. It helps even a novice like myself be able to pull off impressive baked goods. These rolls turned out fantastic!


And after the flour dust had cleared, the simplest solution was this: shape your kneaded (but unrisen) yeast dough into rolls. Place them in a pan and freeze. Once frozen, bag them airtight and stash in the freezer.


As soon as you're done kneading the dough, shape it into rolls. That's right; you're not going to let the dough rise in the bowl first, as you usually would. Again, you want to minimize yeast activity.


Why the cautionary notes? Well, some (but not all) of the yeast will be killed during freezing, thus lowering the rolls' rising ability. But the bigger culprit is ice crystals, which develop during freezing. And the longer it takes for the rolls to freeze solid, the larger the ice crystals will be.


Oh, and one more roadblock to high-rising rolls from the freezer: dead yeast releases a substance called glutathione, which acts as a natural dough relaxer. The more relaxed your dough, the less eager it is to rise upwards; it would rather spread outwards. The result? Rolls that don't rise as high.


Now, what about using this technique with your own favorite dinner roll recipe? It should work just fine. We've found that the richer the roll (e.g., rolls made with milk, butter/oil, and/or eggs), the better the results. A "lean" dough (one made with simply flour, water, salt, and yeast) is more susceptible to freezer damage, since it's easier for ice crystals to form in this type of dough. Check out all our buns and rolls recipe and get freezing.


Hi Jenny, we haven't tried using these frozen rolls for a frozen dough replacement in a Monkey Bread recipe, but if you're going to go to the trouble of making the dough from scratch, you might want to consider a recipe like our Monkeying Around Bread, that will get you there without frozen dough.


Hi Carole, are you referring to this Stollen recipe? Since this is more of a quick bread/baking powder recipe, I wouldn't recommend freezing the unbaked bread in the same way recommended for these yeast rolls. If you'd like to freeze this bread, I would do so after it has been baked and completely cooled. You can thaw out at room temperature, and perhaps douse it with fresh powdered sugar, if necessary.


These buns look amazing and I really want to try to make them for dinner tonite. However I have a small combi oven and seems like maybe only half of the amount of rolls can fit. Would you advise me to half the recipe or can I freeze the other half?


I Add a little less than a 1/4 cup of honey to the recipe. The rolls were really good. Unfortunately I had a little trouble with the plastic wrap and had to reroll my rolls. But other than that it was all good. Definitely would make them again.


I have been staring at this recipe for months. I love dinner rolls and was so worried it might be too much work. I finally tried this recipe Monday night and it was sooooooo easy. She s right the bread machine does all the heavy lifting. I sprinkled a glass cutting board with floor and used a sharp knife to divide my dough into 16 pieces. It took less than five mins to do that. It baked perfectly. these rolls were done the next morning. we could not stop eating it. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe. I was wondering if I cut down the sugar from 1/4 cup to say 2 tbsp, do I need to adjust the time required for the buns to rise?


This is the most consistent and delicious recipe. I make this recipe at least once a week since March. I only have active dry yeast so I put it, the sugar and warm water in the base of the breadmaker. Set a timer for 10 minutes and then add the rest of the ingredients. Sometimes I sub 1/3 of the flour with whole wheat flour and it still turns out great.


I forgot to buy rolls for Thanksgiving dinner so was frantically looking for a bread machine roll recipe. I chose this one because of the great reviews and the simplicity. They turned out so great! Everyone loved them. No more Pillsbury tubes for me! Next time I will definitely try the overnight refrigerated version to make things even easier.


I have made these rolls 6 times and have a batch in the breaad machine now. This is a fool proof recipe. They have turned out perfect every time. The only change I made was to cut the dough into 15 pieces instead of 16. This made it easier to bake the rolls in a 9 X 13 brownie pan. My family loves them.


I just made these rolls and they are the best I have ever made. My twin grandsons showed up just as they came out of the oven. I went upstairs to get something for them to take home to their mom and when I got back to the kitchen they had devoured 12 of the 16 rolls I made. Guess this recipe is a keeper. Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful recipe.


This recipe it amazing. I measured out all my ingredients and added to the bread machine in the correct order. Powered on the machine and nothing happens. My bread machine apparently burnt up. In a panic my husband and I quickly got out our stand mixer and got the dough kneaded and followed the rest of the directions in the recipe wondering if it would work. The results were amazing. Fluffy rolls with a terrific flavor! Thank you so much for sharing this recipe!


My mom used to make dinner rolls like these, but over the years she'd forgotten steps and her rolls started getting flatter and denser. I'm making rolls for the first time today, so I really, really appreciate the detail you've gone into for the recipe! I'll try it out, then try to figure out how to post a pic and review.


nutrition data for golden corral's rolls125 calories, 4 grams fat, 20 grams carbohydrates, 3 grams protein per serving. This recipe is low in sodium.Show full nutritional data (including Weight Watcher's Points , cholesterol, sodium, vitamins, and diabetic exchanges) more recipes like golden corral's rolls GOLDEN CARROT BUNS HARD ROLLS LOGAN'S TEXAS ROADHOUSE BUTTERY DINNER ROLLS DINNER ROLLS ANN'S EASY BRIOCHE ROLLS CDKITCHEN'S BEST HAMBURGER OR HOT DOG BUNS reviews & comments for golden corral's rolls MonkeyWaffles Member since:Mar 26, 2021 REVIEW: March 26, 2021 Came out perfect! Did everything as described and made a dozen rolls from the batch. I think I'll add a bit more sugar next time though. I like my rolls where I can taste the sweetness (ala - Hawaiian Rolls)


These rolls are truly superb! We bake bread at our house several times a week about 9 months out of the year. I have one roll recipe I have used for maybe 3 years but lately my daughters said they don't care for them (my old recipe) nearly as much as ones they ate at Golden Corral. So I went on a search for a new recipe!We tried a couple but they were much like I had been using or just weren't very tasty. I had almost given up and I ound this recipe! We made it for the first time last night for dinner guests. Everyone loved them!The one thing I will say is that I raised them till doubled then punched down and I really felt to get the "right" size roll it only made 12 and the recipe says 24. That is easily fixed by making smaller rolls and not an issue but thought I would mention it. Also I brushed with melted butter before baking and melted homemade honey butter after as an extra treat but not necessary. ;). Thanks for a great recipe. This is going into my family favorites.


My daughter is in restaraunt management in college. When she came to visit she told me of this recipe. She made the rolls and WOW very delicious!!!! We made homemade butter for them. what was left over i put in the freezer. We simply take out what we need for dinner and put in the microwave for approx. 10-20 seconds and they still taste nice and fresh as if they were just made. Love love love this recipe. I am making more for Easter dinner. Agree on maybe adding more sugar though. otherwise really great recipe. Recommend it to everyone.


While they didn't turn out -exactly- like Golden Corral rolls, they did turn out absolutely amazing. Very soft, very fluffy, and very irresistible. Fairly easy to make, too. I do suggest adding just a little extra sugar. Maybe increasing the amount to 1/2 a cup.All in all, great recipe. I'm glad I found this recipe in time to make 5 dozen or so for Thanksgiving. (serve them as fresh as possible!) 2ff7e9595c


1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Download Iruna Online, o jogo de RPG online japonês

Como baixar e jogar Iruna Online JP no seu PC Se você é fã de MMORPGs, já deve ter ouvido falar Iruna Online JP See More, um popular jogo online para dispositivos móveis no Japão. Mas você sabia que t

bottom of page